Since 1903, Saint Anthony Church has sat on the prominent hill north of the former Arkansas Central Railroad station at Ratcliff. The small one-room school building which was also built at that time, was the site of community and parish life for many years. During the 1940’s, an addition to the school was completed along with a basement kitchen/dining room. After the closing of the parish school in 1960, the building was redesigned again to better serve as a parish center. The building was expanded once more as the parish blossomed during the leadership of Fr. Harold Heiman, O.S.B. during the 1980’s. With parts of this building being over 114 years old and with so many additions, the structure was in need of numerous costly and extensive repairs to meet insurance codes and to make it more stable, handicap compliant, and maintenance friendly. The time had come to remove the old building and make a fresh start. The parish now has a new structure on the site of the old schoolhouse, and contains several items from the old building and will include a photo memory wall to help maintain some of the rich history of St. Anthony School. The new parish center has classrooms for the religious education of the youth, and will be dedicated to Father Harold, who served the parish for 29 years. All are invited to attend the open house which will be Sunday, October 7th, from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. Donations can be directly deposited at First Western Bank in Caulksville under the account name “Saint Anthony Parish Building Fund”, or mailed to St. Anthony Catholic Church, PO Box 60, Ratcliff, AR 72951.