Members of the Franklin County Retired School Employees Association will have their first meeting of the new school year Monday, October 14, at 10:00 AM, at the Franklin County Extension Office in Ozark. The guest speaker will be Blake Lasater, pastor of the Eureka Springs First United Methodist Church and former Navy Chaplain. He has traveled extensively and will speak on World Travels and Outlook. Members are reminded to bring school supplies and/or money for hygiene products for the children at Maggie House. $10 membership dues are payable at this time.

Fifteen Franklin County retirees attended a meeting of the State-wide Joint Committee on Public Retirement Systems in Ft. Smith September 25. Legislative members of that committee were introduced, and opening statements were made by directors of the various public retirement systems governed by the State. Questions and comments posed by the retirees were entertained by the legislators. Two main points were raised several times and seemed to resonate across the members of the retirement systems: 1) People who had planned their financial lives far in advance, and were told to expect certain benefits, expressed great displeasure at changes in promised benefits, and 2) Requests were made by several retirees, who’s systems have political appointees serving on their Board of Trustee, that their board members be changed to those who would be elected by their peers. Arkansas Teacher Retirement System is administered by 15 member Board of Trustees. Eleven trustees are elected by ATRS members and are representative of that membership.