Charleston Tiger quarterback Ty Storey has been named the Gatorade Arkansas Football Player of the Year.

Storey, a junior, has thrown for 3,537 yards and 42 touchdowns while completing 230-of-342 attempts, while playing less than a half in most games. Storey orally committed to Arkansas earlier this year.

Previous Arkansas award winners include Austin Allen (2012-2013, Fayetteville), Fredi Knighten (2011-12, Pulaski Academy), Kiehl Frazier (2010-11, Shiloh Christian), Michael Dyer (2009-10 & 2008-09, Little Rock Christian) and De’Anthony Curtis (2007-08, Camden Fairview).

Storey will be back in action this Friday December 13 at 7pm when Charleston, 13-0, hosts Earle in a 3A semifinal game, which was delayed by winter weather.

Storey is coming off a huge game, as he threw for 519 yards and seven touchdowns against defending state champion Harding Academy in the state quarterfinals.

Seven current SEC commitments were named state players of the year, including Storey, the only junior among the SEC commits to win the honor.

"I feel honored to win this award but at the same time I’m focused on finishing this year strong," Storey told Saturday Down South. "I know without the hard work of my teammates and coaches this wouldn’t be possible. Again I’m very humbled and honored to receive this award. The Arkansas fans have always been very supportive of me. I appreciate their support."