New Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band album coming in October, single out now

Chris Jordan Asbury Park Press
Bruce Springsteen's latest album, "Letter to You," will be released on Oct. 23.

Definitely do not return to sender.

A new Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band album called “Letter to You” will be released Oct. 23 on Columbia Records. The album was recorded with the band in five days with no overdubs “completely live” at his home studio in Colts Neck, New Jersey.

“I love the emotional nature of Letter To You,” said Springsteen in a statement. “And I love the sound of the E Street Band playing completely live in the studio, in a way we’ve never done before, and with no overdubs. We made the album in only five days, and it turned out to be one of the greatest recording experiences I’ve ever had.”

The album includes nine recently written Springsteen songs, as well as new recordings of three previously unreleased songs from the '70s: “Janey Needs a Shooter,” “If I Was the Priest” and “Song for Orphans.” The new song “House of a Thousand Guitars” has no relation to the Willie Nile song of the same name.

Bruce Springsteen's 'Letter to You'

Springsteen and Ron Aniello are the producers.

Here's the single, "Letter to You," riveting a mid-tempo rocker with lots of soul and grit. The video was directed by Thom Zimny, and features Springsteen and the E Street Band inside the Colts Neck studio with Aniello.

The Boss convened the whole band to his home studio in February, according sources, and a filmed representation of Springsteen and the E Street Band should be forthcoming.

Danny Clinch, the Toms River native who has taken the cover images for multiple Springsteen albums, shot the cover of “Letter to You” during the the run of “Springsteen on Broadway.”

The track list:

1. One Minute You’re Here

2. Letter To You

3. Burnin’ Train

4. Janey Needs A Shooter

5. Last Man Standing

6. The Power Of Prayer

7. House Of A Thousand Guitars

8. Rainmaker

9. If I Was The Priest

10. Ghosts

11. Song For Orphans

12. I’ll See You In My Dreams

Chris Jordan, a Jersey Shore native, covers entertainment and features for the USA Today Network New Jersey. Contact him at @chrisfhjordan;

The Boss turned 70 last year, and he's still rocking. Born Sept. 23, 1949, Bruce Springsteen grew up in New Jersey.